Phi Theta Kappa

PTK Ceremony #1_sm PTK Ceremony #9_sm PTK Ceremony #8_sm

College Honors Students at Phi Theta Kappa Ceremony

April 12, 2016                                                                           

North Country Community College held an induction ceremony for new members of Phi Theta Kappa on April 9, 2016 at the First Presbyterian church in Saranac Lake.  The purpose of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is to recognize and encourage scholarship among Associate Degree seeking students.  NCCC’s Beta Theta Pi Chapter was charted in 1999 and has successfully inducted 827 members to date.  “This honor society is nationally recognized for providing incredible support to community college students and for advancing the community college experience across the nation,” stated Dr. Steve Tyrell, College President. He added “We are so pleased to recognize these outstanding students who have dedicated themselves to scholarship, service and leadership at the College and in their local communities.” Each semester, invitation to membership is extended by the Chapter to students who have completed at least 15 hours of course work at North Country Community College with a minimum 3.5 grade point average, leading to an Associate Degree.

Vice President for Administration & Chief Financial Officer, Robert Farmer, and keynote speaker told the students, “One part of the Phi Theta Kappa mission is to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.  Service – to this organization or other community organizations is critical for their success and important to your professional growth.  Giving your time and resources to community organizations is a win-win – you win by learning, growing and networking with others and the organization wins by furthering its mission through you.”

Joining the new members and their families at the ceremony were Phi Theta Kappa advisors, Lynne Fisher Kemp, Dr. Selina LeMay-Klippel, Bruce Kelly, Charles Van Anden and Kate Wells; President, Dr. Steve J  Tyrell; Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs, Joe Keegan and Dean of Admissions, Christopher Tacea and other members of the faculty and staff.  The College extends its congratulations to the following 2016 Class of Inductees:

Jennifer A. Aiken, Alexandria F. Amo, *Hannah L. Armstrong, Courtney A. Baker, *Ashli A. Bombard, Robert E. Breyette, Shonna R. Brooks, *Chasity M. Brunet, Alexis Cassell, Wayne A. Chase, Theresa M. Corrow, Sydney Craig, Rachel Dalton, Justin Daniels, Devin W. Davis, Sara I. Diaz, *Shaun D. Durant, Jaime W. Fogarty Jenelle N. Gefaller, Jodilyn Gonia, *Carrie A. Gratto, Anthony Hanf, *Jeffery A. Hart, Benjamin J. Herne, *Tianna T. Higgins, *Susan M. Homa, *Yvonne J. Inman, *Marcus J. Johnson, Benjamin M. Karkoski, *Stephanie E. Kilburn, *Linda M. Lebrasseur, Kelly A. Lett, Loni L. Lewis, Kelli M. Love-Robinson, Samantha A. Mack, Melanie K. Mann, Jay E. Martin, Stephen McGahey, Lexi S. Moore, *Gabrielle M. Quinn, Nicholas W. Revette, *Jenny M. Rodriguez, *Dawn Rosenbarker, Bryce Saffrett, Kaitlyn E. Scinta, Ruth Smoke, Calen C. Soulia, *Nicola M. Sousis, *Suzanne J. Stevens, *Caren Y. Tamayo, *Jenna N. Tashjian

(*Chapter member Fall 2015; formally inducted April 9, 2016)

Phi Theta Kappa has been recognizing academic achievement in two-year colleges since 1918. Phi Theta Kappa has chartered over 1,285 chapters, and has inducted more than three million members. Phi Theta Kappa chapters are located on campuses in all fifty of the United States, Canada, U.S. territories and military installations abroad. It is the only international acclaimed honor society serving institutions which offer associate degree programs. Two-year college presidents and administrators of associate degree programs in four-year schools have continually recognized membership in Phi Theta Kappa as an honor and a privilege. Membership is given added significance by the fact that the Society is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official general honor society for two-year colleges.

More information about Phi Theta Kappa can be found at For more information regarding the 2016 Induction Ceremony at North Country Community College, please contact the President’s Office at

PTK Ceremony #6_sm PTK Ceremony #4_sm PTK Ceremony #7_sm PTK Ceremony #3_sm